December 2021 Media Release

Business and industry lend a hand to our best and brightest

GREATER
SHEPPARTON
SECONDARY
COLLEGE

More than 180 Greater Shepparton Secondary College students were honoured for their efforts in 2021 at the college's annual awards night held on Wednesday at Riverlinks Eastbank.

Relaxed COVID-19 restrictions allowed the event to go ahead with proud parents, carers, community and business representatives paying tribute to students who have excelled in a range of academic, leadership and sporting pursuits.

Like recent GSSC graduation, formals and transition events, the school community welcomed the chance to gather in person, rather than celebrating online.

The event included a series of new Community Awards for junior and senior students whose efforts reflected excellence in GSSC's key learning areas and for modelling the school values of Aspiration, Integrity, Respect and Responsibility. Many awards included a cash prize and a commemorative trophy for recipients.

"We enjoy award sponsorship from community groups and education institutions and when the call was put out to local businesses, we were overwhelmed with the support we received," Executive Principal Barbara O'Brien said.

Ms O'Brien said the college received offers from across Greater Shepparton's retail shops, local industry, professional services and more.

"It was a welcome vote of support and encouragement for our new college and our students.

"We have worked hard to form strong relationships with local business to develop career and learning pathways for our students," she said.

"The business support reflects that, as well as the generosity of our business community and their belief in our young people."

Ms O'Brien said GSSC's links with local business will be strengthened with students coming together at the new college at Hawdon St, particularly with the industry-standard facilities offered in the new Enterprise and Innovation Centre.

Among academic, sport and citizenship awards presented on the night, business support allowed for four groups of Community Awards to be presented. The sponsors, and winners, were:

Community Awards - Group 1:

Everyday Supplies Award, Lucy Potter;

Next Office Tech Award, Steph Stevens;

Ford's Coach Travel Company Award,

Fatima Alkhateeb, Chloe Bray, Madeline Judd, Andrew Kenttala and Angelina Mason;

Learning With Technologies Award, Callum Willing;

Byers Electrical Award, Adam Chandler and Shukria Zahir;

Australian Defence Force Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Award;

Nida Ali Bangash (Year 10), Caitlyn Glasson and Benjamin Okely;

Australian Defence Force Future Innovators STEM Award;

Matthew Hanns (Year 10); Macy Bollard and Ali Al-Hussainy (Year 12);

Kiwanis Club of Shepparton Sunrisers; Stewart Russell Youth Award for Creativity and Innovation,

Rowan Farren;

The Eastern Goulburn Valley Group CWA, Matilda McKenzie and Jordan Dreher.

Community Awards - Group 2:

Koorie Community Achievement Award, Frances Atkinson;

Tara Neilsen Award, Samantha Comline (Year 9), Matthew Hanns, Year 10;

Treseder Scholarship Award, Bir Singh;

Soroptimist of Shepparton Award, Sabah Tarsha, Nida Ali Bangash, Jess Trevaskis and Lara Trevaskis;

Riverlinks Award, Amy McCorry;

Talisman Menswear Award, Sahar Azizi.

Community Awards - Group 3:

Goulburn Murray LLEN, Kitt McCamley and Tristan Phipps;

The Apprenticeship Factory Award, Taj Richards;

La Trobe University Award, Cheryl Nguyen, Hunter Chalmers and Gamar Bakhiet;

Community Awards - Group 4:

CVGT Employment & Training Award, Lachlan McCully;

Graham Thomson Motors Award, Bailey McDowall;

Watters Electrical Award, Ayush Patel;

Bunnings Warehouse: Dylan Bell and Kasey Sullivan;

IVET Award, Chrystal Chapman;

Craig Douglas Art Technology Award, Kyra Van Der Elst;

Dawes & Vary Riordan Lawyers Junior Humanities Award, Juna Crozier;

Dawes & Vary Riordan Lawyers Senior Humanities Award, Isabela Bace;

Greater Shepparton Secondary College Aspiration Award, Caitlyn Glasson;

Goulburn Murray-Water Senior Science Award, Matthew Hanns;

Goulburn-Murray Water Junior Science Award, Caitlin Farrall;

Graham Hill Eyecare Award, Lincoln Atkinson;

Guthrie McGoldrick Consulting Engineers Junior Mathematics Award, Mohammad Karimi;

Greater Shepparton Foundation LOTE Awards, Melody Hall, Mohammad Alkhateeb, Ellisa Francis and Liberty Gaya;

Shepparton Festival Senior Music Award, Thomas Hawtin;

AIA Australia Senior Health & PE Award, Jak Cumming;

SSV Academic & Sporting Award, Georgia Comline.

Media contact: Richard Bryce | Senior Communications Advisor |

Department of Education & Training | T: 0436 854 801

